Survey and town hall sessions

Senior Artists' Research Project

An influential group of Canadian arts organizations is looking for ways to do more to support Canada's senior artists (that is, artists in all disciplines who are 65 and over).

We invite artists 55 and over to participate in a survey about their needs and interests in areas such as artistic activity, health care, housing, retirement, financial issues, community connections and social networks.

The survey must close on Monday, November 30!

The online survey of the situation and needs of senior artists is available here. A pdf version of the survey (if preferred to the online survey) is available below.

A background research document (available below) summarizes programs, services and associations that support older artists in 13 countries, largely in Europe.

We want to thank all those artists who shared their stories during the 17 "town hall" discussions that were conducted.

Completed town hall sessions

Halifax: September 16, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

Charlottetown: September 18, Confederation Centre

Calgary: Monday, September 28, The Kahanoff Centre

Edmonton: Tuesday, September 29, Catalyst Theatre

Saskatoon: Thursday, October 1, Mendel Art Gallery

Regina: Friday, October 2, MacKenzie Art Gallery

Vancouver: Monday, October 5, Scotiabank Dance Centre

Vancouver: Tuesday, October 6, PAL Vancouver

Victoria: Thursday, October 8, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria

Winnipeg: Wednesday, October 21, Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers

Thunder Bay: Friday, October 23, Thunder Bay Art Gallery

Montreal (French): Tuesday, November 3, Conseil québécois du théâtre

Montreal (English): Wednesday, November 4, ACTRA Montreal

Ottawa: Thursday, November 5, Council for the Arts in Ottawa

Toronto: Monday, November 9, PAL Toronto

Toronto: Monday, November 16, Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (MOCCA)

Hamilton: Thursday, November 19, Arts Hamilton

Related documentation
PreviewAttachmentSize
Senior artists' survey234.84 KB
International background research292.54 KB