Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Other topics

Rapport sur les données du sondage

Basé sur un sondage complété par 907 organismes artistiques et 2 680 artistes au Canada, ce rapport examine « l’incidence des technologies numériques sur la création, la diffusion et les pratiques commerciales des artistes et des organismes artistiques au Canada ». En général, la plupart des répondants se disent « à l’aise » ou « très à l’aise » avec le numérique (71 % des organismes et 60 % des artistes). Un peu plus d’un tiers des organismes artistiques (38 %) et de la moitié des artistes (54 %) ont créé des « œuvres numériques ».

(Assessing the Audience Impact of Choral Music Concerts)

Basé sur un sondage auprès de plus de 14 000 membres du public de 23 chœurs de chant (le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et 22 chœurs américains), ce rapport examine les expériences du public des concerts de chœurs. Cette étude avait pour but d’encourager « la pensée critique sur la façon dont les publics élaborent des sens et des souvenirs des concerts de chœurs ainsi que les moyens que peuvent utiliser les chœurs pour concevoir soigneusement leurs programmes ».

(Everything We Know About Whether and How the Arts Improve Lives)

Cet article, un dossier ouvert d’un groupe de recherche américain sur la culture, évalue et résume les preuves des bienfaits des arts chez les personnes. Les chercheurs examinent quatre aspects des données probantes des études : la santé physique et mentale, l’apprentissage et le développement personnel, la vitalité économique et la cohésion sociale. Tout en reconnaissant que les études actuelles ne sont pas définitives, les chercheurs concluent que « la participation aux arts améliore réellement les vies ».

(ImagineNation: the value of cultural learning)

Résumant les études secondaires sur la valeur des arts et de l’éducation artistique, ce rapport du Royaume-Uni constate que « les arts et la culture sont un élément essentiel et positif de notre existence ». Un deuxième rapport (Key Research Findings : The Case for Cultural Learning) renferme des renseignements au sujet des études citées dans ImagineNation.

Based on a literature review, existing statistics, two focus groups, and a targeted survey of 30 stakeholders, this report examines “the patterns of attendance and cultural participation by young people in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) and the children’s festival sector in Canada”.

(Arts Impact Measurement Project)

Deux rapports récents consacrés aux arts et à la culture dans la municipalité régionale de Wood Buffalo en Alberta (la région englobant Fort McMurray) sont le fruit de trois pistes de recherche : 1) un sondage téléphonique auprès d’un échantillon représentatif de la population locale; 2) un sondage sur Internet des artistes et des organismes artistiques locaux; et 3) une étude documentaire au sujet des arts et de la reprise après sinistre.

La série Perspectives Ottawa examine les principales données relatives à divers « thèmes » d’importance à la qualité de vie locale, dont les arts et la culture. Le rapport fournit des renseignements au sujet de quatre domaines des arts et de la culture : La participation du public; Les programmes et les installations; Les investissements dans les arts; L’économie du secteur des arts et des loisirs.

Éclairer l’avenir

En se basant sur un sondage auprès de 120 municipalités, ce rapport examine les infrastructures que possèdent les municipalités dans sept secteurs : bâtiments; installations de sport et de loisirs; routes et ponts; transports collectifs; eau potable; eaux usées; et eaux pluviales. Le secteur des bâtiments comprend les « installations communautaires et culturelles ».

(2015 Performance Measurement Report)

En se fondant sur des données soumises par les municipalités et examinées par des pairs, ce rapport compare les dépenses municipales dans 36 secteurs de services, dont la culture. En 2015, le coût global médian des services culturels dans les huit villes était de 26,84 $ par habitant. C’est à Montréal que l’on constate les dépenses les plus élevées au chapitre des services culturels (43,79 $), suivie d’Ottawa (33,21 $) et de Toronto (31,81 $). Les subventions médianes au chapitre des arts, du patrimoine et des festivals se situent à 8,86 $ par habitant. C’est encore à Montréal où celles-ci sont les plus élevées (23,16 $), suivie de Thunder Bay (17,59 $) et d’Ottawa (9,70 $).

Les entreprises et l’emploi dans les arts : mesurer l’envergure des secteurs reliés aux arts aux États-Unis (Creative Industries 2015)

Ce rapport succinct résume les données sur les organismes sans but lucratif et les entreprises « qui participent à la production et à la diffusion des arts ». Il s’agit d’organismes et d’entreprises comme les orchestres, les musées et les théâtres sans but lucratif ainsi que les « entreprises de cinéma, d’architecture et de publicité à but lucratif ». Globalement, le rapport constate qu’il y a un peu plus de 700 000 organismes et entreprises reliés aux arts aux États-Unis employant 2,9 millions de personnes. « Ceci représente 3,9 % de toutes les entreprises aux États-Unis et 1,9 % de tous les employés au pays, une démonstration par voie statistique de la présence non négligeable des arts parmi les entreprises. »

Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Other topics

Survey Data Report

Based on a survey completed by 907 arts organizations and 2,680 artists in Canada, this report examines “the impact of digital technologies on the creation, dissemination and business practices of individual artists and arts organizations in Canada”. In general, most respondents self-identified as “comfortable” or “very comfortable” using digital technologies (71% of organizations and 60% of artists). Just over one-third of arts organizations (38%) and one-half of artists (54%) have created “digital-first” works of art.

Based on a survey of over 14,000 attendees at performances by 23 choirs (including the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir and 22 American choruses), this report examines the experiences of audiences at live choral concerts. The goal of the research was to spur “critical reflection on how audiences construct meaning and memory from concerts of choral music, and how choruses can curate impacts through thoughtful program design”.

This review article, a work in progress from an American cultural research group, evaluates and summarizes evidence regarding the benefits of the arts for individuals. The researchers examine research evidence in four categories: physical and mental health; education and personal development; economic vitality; and social cohesion. While the researchers recognize that existing research is not definitive, they do conclude that “arts participation really does improve lives”.

Summarizing secondary research into the value of the arts and arts education, this report from the United Kingdom finds that “arts and culture are a life-enhancing and essential part of our existence". An accompanying report (Key Research Findings: The Case for Cultural Learning) provides further details about the research highlighted in ImagineNation.

Based on a literature review, existing statistics, two focus groups, and a targeted survey of 30 stakeholders, this report examines “the patterns of attendance and cultural participation by young people in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) and the children’s festival sector in Canada”.

Two recent reports about the arts and culture in the Alberta Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo (i.e., Fort McMurray and area) resulted from three research streams: 1) a telephone survey of a representative sample of local residents; 2) an internet survey of local artists and arts organizations; and 3) a literature review regarding the arts and regeneration after a disaster.

The Ottawa Insights series examines key data related to various “themes” that are important to local quality of life, including the arts and culture. The report provides information related to four areas of the arts and culture: Public participation; Programs and facilities; Investment in the arts; The arts and recreation economy.

Informing the Future

Based on a survey of 120 municipalities, this report examines the state of municipally-owned infrastructure in seven sectors: buildings; sport and recreation facilities; roads and bridges; transit; potable water; wastewater; and stormwater. The buildings sector includes “community centres and cultural facilities”.

Based on municipal submissions that have been reviewed by their peers, this report compares municipal expenses related to 36 service areas, one of which is culture. In 2015, the median overall cost for cultural services in the eight cities was $26.84 per capita. Expenses for cultural services were highest in Montreal ($43.79), followed by Ottawa ($33.21) and Toronto ($31.81). Median grants for the arts, heritage, and festivals were $8.86 per capita, again highest in Montreal ($23.16), followed by Thunder Bay ($17.59) and Ottawa ($9.70).

Business & Employment in the Arts: Measuring the Scope of the Nation’s Arts-Related Industries

This brief report summarizes data on not-for-profit organizations and businesses “involved in the production or distribution of the arts”. Included in the definition are organizations and businesses such as not-for-profit orchestras, museums and theatres as well as “for-profit film, architecture, and advertising companies”. Overall, the report finds that there are just over 700,000 arts-related organizations and businesses in the U.S., employing 2.9 million people. “This represents 3.9 percent of all U.S. businesses and 1.9 percent of all U.S. employees—demonstrating statistically that the arts are a formidable business presence”.