Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Benefits & Impacts

(The neurochemistry of music)

Passant en revue 400 rapports de recherche portant sur les effets neurochimiques de la musique, cet article indique qu’il a des preuves « prometteuses bien que préliminaires » que la musique a des effets positifs sur « (i) les récompenses, la motivation et le plaisir; (ii) le stress et l’éveil; (iii) l’immunité; et (iv) l’affiliation sociale ».

(Exploring the Longitudinal Relationship Between Arts Engagement and Health)

Cet article propose un examen détaillé de quinze rapports sur « l’effet de la participation aux arts – en tant que membre du public ou praticien – sur la santé physique et psychologique au fil des années » et conclut que « l’on constate en général que la participation aux arts a un effet positif sur la physiologie humaine, ce qui améliore la santé et la qualité de vie ».

Présentation parrainée par Arts Health Network Canada et CH-NET Works! (un projet du Réseau canadien sur les ressources humaines en santé à l’Université d’Ottawa)

This presentation muses as to whether the arts could be a part of a “prescription for health”, in addition to a healthy diet, physical activity, proper health care, and good sleeping habits. The presentation provides a brief review of studies of arts engagement and well-being, and delves into the findings from the 2013 study The Arts and Individual Well-being in Canada.

Ce rapport succinct souligne le fait que les pratiques culturelles sont importantes pour « le mieux-être, la santé et la guérison des peuples et des collectivités autochtones ». Le rapport indique que les arts peuvent avoir une importance particulière pour les peuples autochtones de plusieurs autres façons.

(Importance of Live Theatre)

Basé sur un sondage téléphonique aléatoire de Nanos Research auprès de 1 000 Canadiens pour le compte de la Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) en mars 2014, ce court rapport et sa fiche sommaire indiquent que de nombreux Canadiens attachent de l’importance au théâtre dans les collectivités canadiennes. Les résultats du sondage indiquent que 84 % des Canadiens sont d’avis que le théâtre joue un rôle important ou un peu important dans « la création de collectivités vivantes partout au Canada où il fait bon vivre ».

Basée sur diverses sources de Statistique Canada, cette courte fiche de renseignements présente le nombre de compagnies de théâtre au Canada avec leurs revenus et dépenses, la contribution du théâtre à l’économie canadienne, les dépenses des ménages pour des billets et le nombre d’artistes et d’étudiants de théâtre ainsi que leurs revenus.

Résultats et recommandations (The Validating Arts & Livability Indicators Study)

En se fondant sur des visites sur place des bénéficiaires de subventions dans le cadre de l’initiative « Our Town » de la the National Endowment for the Arts, une séance d’une journée avec d’autres bénéficiaires de subventions, et un groupe de discussion réunissant des spécialistes de la création de lieux créatifs, ce rapport examine l’utilité de 23 indicateurs possibles des contributions des arts et de la culture à la qualité d’un lieu et à l’habitabilité communautaire. Le rapport définit la création de lieux créatifs comme le processus où « des partenaires des secteurs public, privé, sans but lucratif et communautaire façonnent stratégiquement le caractère physique et social d’un quartier, d’un village, d’une ville ou d’une région autour des arts et des activités culturelles ».

Le lien causal entre les arts et la croissance économique (Culture Shocks and Consequences)

À l’aide de données historiques de 384 régions métropolitaines des États-Unis, la recherche exploratoire décrite dans ce rapport examine si une augmentation des dépenses des organismes artistiques et culturels sans but lucratif a une incidence positive à long terme sur l’économie locale. En s’appuyant sur des données empiriques, les chercheurs concluent qu'il y a une relation positive entre la production culturelle par personne et le PIB par personne, entraînant « une augmentation permanente du PIB par personne ». (Les auteurs notent que « dans le contexte de notre modèle, demander si les dépenses culturelles “causent” la prospérité économique, c’est demander si des innovations transitoires, des “chocs” [dans la production culturelle]… causent des modifications permanentes » au PIB par personne.)

Les retombées du secteur des arts (Arts Impact Alberta 2014)

Ce rapport examine les avantages « pour les gens, les collectivités et l’économie » du financement de fonctionnement versé par l’Alberta Foundation for the Arts (AFA) aux organismes artistiques pendant une période de sept ans (2006-2013). En plus des données sur le financement de fonctionnement de ces organismes, le rapport comprend des chiffres provenant d’autres sources, notamment d’un sondage d’opinion publique réalisé dans la province.

Résultats d’une initiative de recherche de Les affaires pour les arts (Canadians Value Companies that Support the Arts)

Comme l’indique le titre du rapport, une des principales constatations de cette présentation sur des recherches en cours est que de nombreux Canadiens ont une opinion favorable des entreprises qui soutiennent les arts. Un sondage d’opinion publique a révélé que 52 % des répondants « démontrent une préférence marquée pour les entreprises qui soutiennent les arts et la culture ».

Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Benefits & Impacts

Reviewing 400 research reports related to the neurochemistry of music, this article indicates that there is “promising, yet preliminary” evidence that music has positive effects on “(i) reward, motivation, and pleasure; (ii) stress and arousal; (iii) immunity; and (iv) social affiliation”.

Fifteen reports on “how engagement in the arts – as an audience member and/or practitioner – affects our physical and psychological health over time” are examined in this detailed review article, which concludes that “engagement in the arts is generally shown to have a positive impact upon the body’s physiology, in turn improving health and quality of life”.

Presentation hosted by Arts Health Network Canada and CH-NET Works! (a project of the Canadian Health Human Resources Network at the University of Ottawa)

This presentation muses as to whether the arts could be a part of a “prescription for health”, in addition to a healthy diet, physical activity, proper health care, and good sleeping habits. The presentation provides a brief review of studies of arts engagement and well-being, and delves into the findings from the 2013 study The Arts and Individual Well-being in Canada.

This brief report highlights the fact that cultural practices are important for “the wellness, health, and healing of Aboriginal peoples and communities”. The report indicates that the arts may have particular importance for Aboriginal Peoples in many ways.

Based on a random telephone survey of 1,000 Canadians commissioned by the Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) from Nanos Research in March 2014, this brief report and a summary fact sheet indicate that many Canadians believe in the importance of live theatre in Canadian communities. The survey results show that 84% of Canadians believe that live theatre plays an important or somewhat important role in “making communities across Canada vibrant places to live”.

Based on various Statistics Canada sources, this brief fact sheet examines the number of theatre companies in Canada, their revenues and expenditures, theatre’s contribution to the economy, public spending on tickets, as well as the number and earnings of theatre artists and students.

Results and Recommendations

Based on site visits of grant recipients from the National Endowment for the Arts’ “Our Town” initiative, a one-day session with other grant recipients, and a focus group with creative placemaking experts, this report examines the usefulness of 23 potential indicators of the contribution of the arts and culture to quality of place and community livability. The report defines creative placemaking as processes where “partners from public, private, non-profit and community sectors strategically shape the physical and social character of a neighborhood, town, city or region around arts and cultural activities”.

The causal link between the arts and economic growth

Using historical data from 384 American metropolitan areas, the exploratory research in this report examines whether an increase in the spending of local not-for-profit arts and culture organizations has a long-term, positive impact on the local economy. The empirical data lead the researchers to conclude that there is a positive relationship between per capita cultural production and per capita GDP, resulting in “a permanent increase in per capita GDP”. (The authors note that, “in the context of our model, asking whether cultural spending ‘causes’ economic prosperity is asking whether transitory innovations or ‘shocks’ [in cultural production] … cause permanent changes” to per capita GDP.)

Ripple Effects from the Arts Sector

This report examines the benefits “for people, communities and the economy” of arts organizations receiving operating funding from the Alberta Foundation for the Arts (AFA) over a seven year period (2006-2013). In addition to statistics from operating funding recipients, the report includes statistics from other sources, such as a public survey that was conducted in the province.

Results of Business for the Arts’ 2014 Research Initiative

As the report’s title indicates, one of the key findings of this presentation of ongoing research is that many Canadians look favourably on companies that support the arts. A public survey found that 52% of respondents “feel more favourably towards businesses that support arts and culture”.